## **SUOMI-TANSANIA SEURA - Annual General Meeting Minutes 2011**

Time: April 28, 2011 at 18-20

Venue: KEPA library, Aurinko meeting room, Töölöntorinkatu 2A

## Present:

Humphrey Kalanje, Dennis Londo, Pertti Vanne, Marjaana Toiviainen, Tapio Pitkänen, Noel Makumuli, Arnold Chiwalala, Bertha Mashalla, Edward Mutafungwa, Andrea Fichtmüller, Inga-Lill Lempiäinen, Frateline Kashaga, Micky Mkina, Sebastian Gahnström (from item 4), Ilona Tikka (from item 4 ->), Godfrey Mwamalumbili (from item 5 ->)

1. Opening of the meeting and acceptance of the agenda

The annual general meeting was called to order by Chairperson Humphrey Kalanje. He also introduced the scope of the meeting and the suggested agenda, which was accepted by the attendees. All the attendees introduced themselves.

2. Election of Chairperson and Secretary for the AGM

Edward Mutafungwa was elected to serve as the chairperson and Marjaana Toiviainen as the secretary for the meeting.

- 3. Election of inspectors of the minutes and vote counters Humphrey Kalanje and Andrea Fichtmüller were elected to serve as both inspectors of minutes and vote counters.
- 4. Presentation of 2010-2011 Annual report by the Chairperson of STS Annual report for the board year 2010-2011 was presented by Humphrey Kalanje. Board members had received it beforehand as an e-mail, and anyone present was given an option to receive an electric copy. (Find the annual report attached to the minutes.) Some additions and corrections to the report were made:
- Rehema's school fees for the coming year might rise up to 1000 € instead of the estimation given in the report. It also came up that Rehema will most likely graduate next February. The coming board has to give thought for her future support.
- All members of the society are strongly encouraged to give their contribution to Taarifa.
- Safaripassi book's price for the coming year could be reconsidered.
- The World Village Festival will be dated 28.-29.5.2011. (And everyone should go and eat at

Tufahamiane Club's stand!)

- STS should try to reach out better to members residing outside of capital area.
- The next board should consider and ponder how politically active the society ought to be especially after the recent elections, and what the ways to take stand could be like.
- Facing financial challenges should be top priority for the coming board.

5. Presentation of Financial report and auditors' statement by the Treasurer of STS

Treasurer Pertti Vanne presented the financial report for the year 2010. (Find attached.) No corrections were made. The financial situation, however, was pointed out to be challenging. According to the statements from the auditors the closing of the books and the financial report both give the information required, are compatible and enable the current board to be discharged.

6. Release of Board from responsibility of accounts.

Based on the information received from the treasurer in item 5 the board was released from responsibility of for the year 2010.

7. Presentation of Budget proposal for year 2011-2012 by the Treasurer of STS

Treasurer presented the budget proposal which was based on his estimations for the year 2011. Due to the 50th year independence celebrations of Tanzania which will take place this year the proposed amount for independence celebration was increased from 100 to  $300 \in$  and this was balanced by increasing the estimated income from donations from 500 to  $700 \in$ .

The financial relation between Suomi-Tansania Seura and Tufahamiane Club was discussed and urgently needs to be brought up by the new board. Bertha Mashalla, chairperson for Tufahamiane Club, suggested this issue to be discussed in a meeting with several members of the Club taking part in the reflection. She also wished and welcomed Suomi-Tansania Seura board members to take part in Tufahamiane Club's meeting(s).

8. Election of board members for the year 2011-2012

Members of Suomi-Tansania Seura board 2011-2012 were elected as follows: Sebastian Gahnström, Noel Makumuli, Tapio Pitkänen, Pertti Vanne, Dennis Londo, Marjaana Toiviainen, Godfrey Mwamalumbili, Ilona Tikka, Edward Mutafungwa and Jorma Paukku. Jorma Paukku was not present at the meeting but had officially confirmed his willingness to serve on the board.

Alternate members: Bertha Mashalla, Andrea Fichtmüller

Committee members/active volunteers: Humphrey Kalanje, Arnold Chiwalala, Inga-Lill Lempiäinen, Micky Mkina.

Sebastian Gahnström was elected as chairperson through an open vote.

Sebastian stressed out the importance of cooperation, supporting structures and sharing of responsibilities among the new board.

9. Election of auditors and vice auditors for 2011-2012

Pertti Vanne proposed Risto Ekholm to continue as the auditor for STS, and Tuula Pitkänen and Traute Stude to be alternate auditors. The proposal was approved.

10. Closing of meeting

Meeting was closed at 20.48.

Minutes submitted by:	
Marjaana Toiviainen Secretary of the meeting	Edward Mutafungwa Chairman of the meeting
Approved by:	
Humphrey Kalanje	Andrea Fichtmüller